Oscar Robertson to receive Lifetime Achievement Award at NBA Awards 2018

Turner and the NBA today announced that Oscar Robertson, a Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer and 12-time NBA All-Star, will be honored by the NBA with its Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 NBA Awards on TNT presented by Kia.  TNT will televise the second annual NBA Awards, hosted by Anthony Anderson, live on Monday, June 25 at 9 p.m. ET from Barker Hangar in Los Angeles.

Robertson (“Big O”) forever changed the game of basketball both on and off the court.  On the court, Robertson was the first player in NBA history to average a triple-double (double figures in points, rebounds and assists) for an entire season (1961-1962), and he remains the league’s all-time leader in triple-doubles with 181.  As the first big guard to play “positionless basketball” who could rebound, play defense, distribute the ball and score from the inside and outside, Robertson is widely recognized as one of the best all-around players in the history of the game.

Named among the NBA’s 50 greatest players of all time, Robertson’s other career-making individual accomplishments include the NBA Rookie of the Year (1961), NBA MVP (1964), three NBA All-Star Game MVPs and nine All-NBA First Team honors.  He and the Milwaukee Bucks won their only NBA championship in 1971 amid 10 combined playoff appearances with the Cincinnati Royals and the Bucks.

Among other historic firsts in his career, Robertson led the Crispus Attucks High School basketball team to two consecutive Indiana state championships, becoming the first all African-American team in the nation to win a state title.

Robertson was the first three-time national College Player of the Year while at the University of Cincinnati and a three-time First Team All-American.  In 1998, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association renamed its college player of the year award, the Oscar Robertson Trophy®.

He co-captained the undefeated 1960 U.S. Men’s Olympic Basketball team and was part of the first team of NBA players to tour abroad for the U.S. State Department under the Johnson Administration in Poland, Romania, Yugoslavia and Egypt.

Off the court, Robertson’s impact on basketball was even more significant.  As the first African-American president of any national sports or entertainment labor union, Robertson was the longest-serving president of the National Basketball Players Association from 1965-1974.  His anti-trust lawsuit against the NBA in part sought changes in the NBA Draft and players’ movement.  The 1976 settlement – known as the Oscar Robertson Rule – changed the balance of power in professional sports and ushered in free agency in the NBA and other professional sports.

Robertson also co-founded the National Basketball Retired Players Association and served as its first president from 1992-1998, dedicated to improving pension benefits and medical care for an earlier generation of players.

For his achievements in both college and professional basketball, Robertson was named “Player of the Century” by the National Association of Basketball Coaches in 2000.

Last year, 11-time NBA champion, five-time NBA MVP and Hall of Famer Bill Russell received the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award at theNBA Awards.  He received a Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2011.

NHL Awards 2018 Show: How to watch on TV, online

The NHL will roll out the red carpet for its annual awards show Wednesday at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

Last year’s event was overshadowed by the expansion draft, which the Vegas Golden Knights used to built its roster en route to unprecedented run to the Stanley Cup Final, where they would fall in five games to the Washington Capitals.

The hometown Golden Knights have forward William Karlsson, defenseman Deryk Engelland, coach Gerard Gallant and general manager George McPhee up for the awards.

The Boston Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron looks to pass Montreal Canadiens’ Bob Gainey for most Frank Selke trophies as the league’s most skilled defensive forward at five. Bergeron tied Gainey at four last year and has won the award three of the past four years.

Edmonton’s Connor McDavid can repeat as the Ted Lindsay winner as the league’s MVP as voted on by the NHL Players’ Association.

Buffalo’s Ryan O’Reilly is up for his second Lady Byng award. He previously won in 2014 with Colorado. Los Angeles defenseman Drew Doughty seeks his second Norris Trophy in three years.

The league will recognize its top players, coaches and general managers throughout the past season. Here are the nominees:

Hart: Taylor Hall (NJ), Nathan MacKinnon (COL), Anze Kopitar (LA)

Lindsay: Hall (NJ), MacKinnon (COL), Connor McDavid (EDM)

Norris: Drew Doughty (LA), Victor Hedman (TB), P.K. Subban (NSH)

Vezina: Connor Hellebuyck (WPG), Pekka Rinne (NSH), Andrei Vasilevskiy (TB)

Calder: Mathew Barzal (NYI), Brock Boeser (VAN), Clayton Keller (ARI)

Selke: Patrice Bergeron (BOS), Sean Couturier (PHI), Kopitar (LA)

Lady Byng: Aleksander Barkov (FLA), William Karlsson (VGK), Ryan O’Reilly (BUF)

King Clancy: Daniel and Henrik Sedin (VAN), Subban (NSH), Jason Zucker (MIN)

Masterton: Brian Boyle (NJ), Roberto Luongo (FLA), Jordan Staal (CAR)

Messier: Deryk Engelland (VGK), Wayne Simmonds (PHI), Blake Wheeler (WPG)

Jack Adams: Jared Bednar (COL), Bruce Cassidy (BOS), Gerard Gallant (VGK)

GM of the Year: Kevin Cheveldayoff (WPG), George McPhee (VGK), Steve Yzerman (TB)

How to watch

What: NHL Awards Show

When: 7 p.m. Wednesday

Where: Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas

TV: NBC Sports Network

Livestream: NBC Sports Live

How to Watch the Daytime Emmy Awards Live Stream Free Online

The 2018 Daytime Emmys will be handed out Sunday — and fans of soap operas and other daytime television programs are gearing up to see who will take home the night’s biggest awards, as well as to see the stellar red carpet style.

Comedian and “The Talk” TV personality Sheryl Underwood will host the award ceremony, and “General Hospital” star Carolyn Hennesy will be hosting the red carpet pre-show, which airs live on all of the Daytime Emmys’ social media platforms (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and its website) as well as on KNEKT’s digital television network.

The show itself will be streamed to Facebook, Twitter, Periscope and YouTube, as well as to KNEKT Television. Although viewers wishing to get a traditional television experience can stream through KNEKT, the Daytime Emmys will not be shown on network TV, as has been the case for the last few years.

Daytime Emmys will be presented by stars including Vivica A. Fox, Mario Lopez and Kellie Pickler.

The Daytime Emmys recognize outstanding achievement in all areas of daytime television, with awards going to individuals and programs that aired between 2 a.m. and 6 p.m. during the 2017 calendar year.

The Daytime Creative Arts Emmys were held Friday night and attended by stars including Vanessa Lachey, Dove Cameron and Raven Symone.

Want more?

Celebrity Red Carpet Style at the 2017 Daytime Emmy Awards

These Celebrities Shunned Heels for Comfy Flats on the Red Carpet

Celebs on the Red Carpet Are Using Marijuana CBD-Infused Lotion for Pain-Free Feet in Heels